Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.99)

News about Hopeless 2
User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.99)

Post by Remus »

Welcome to Villa Piranesi (codenamed VIP).
Special prices during the summer vacation.
:mrgreen:
H2_VIP.jpg
The map is highly optimized for best performances.
However I don't expect great FPS values on entry-level computers.

note: the EGY map has been removed to spare RAM and to keep the file size down.
:wink:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Scrappitt
Posts: 656
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 13:00
Location: UK

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by Scrappitt »

And it even has the Rusty jeep :biggthumbsup:
Nice work

:shock:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Scrap


Officially Retired!

User avatar
Milan
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 08:54

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by Milan »

WOW... If I was confused for one week in AZT map, here I will be, for sure, 2 weeks :shock:
Great map :biggthumbsup:
Milan
One, two, Freddy's coming for you.
Three, four, better lock your door.
Five, six, grab your crucifix.
Seven, eight, gonna stay up late.
Nine, ten, never sleep again..

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by Remus »

Scrappitt wrote:And it even has the Rusty jeep :biggthumbsup:
Nice work
:biggthumbsup:

Milan wrote:WOW... If I was confused for one week in AZT map, here I will be, for sure, 2 weeks
Great map
VIP is the most complex map so far.
Talking about map size, VIP is:
- 50% KIN
- 200% AZT
- 400% TFC
- 100% SMC
:biggthumbsup:

kurt
Posts: 315
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 15:10
Location: Turkey

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by kurt »

very nice but sucks :sad:
WaRRiorsS_OF_HecCToR

€né$

User avatar
hiltopper223
Posts: 27
Joined: 15 Mar 2010, 15:06

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by hiltopper223 »

rusty military jeep + medievel castle = timeless map :biggthumbsup:

User avatar
musoi
Posts: 319
Joined: 26 May 2010, 12:43
Location: GAESTI DAMBOVITA ROMANIA
Contact:

THANKS for THE VILA

Post by musoi »

Thanks for the new map Remus....great work, :biggthumbsup: man

User avatar
simplysheikh
Posts: 254
Joined: 11 Oct 2009, 06:27
Location: Thailand Bangkok

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by simplysheikh »

goood Map :agree: :lalala:

User avatar
Timberwolf
Posts: 1311
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 06:37

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by Timberwolf »

Yeah. Awesome-looking map with many points of attack and routes to get to the same places and all that.

But I can't play there. :evil:

Even going in by myself to find out the lay of the land in solo camp, I was only getting barely 20 FPS. If there's even 1 player in camp, the screen looks like a CD skipping - stop and go and stop and go.

Good map for others, though. Now they can let me have SMC when I want to play so I can have peace. :lol:

:biggthumbsup:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by Remus »

another 1.90 update:

Probably the last round of VIP optimizations.
You should expect a 15-20% performances boost on entry-level computers.
:wink:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by Remus »

Timberwolf wrote:Yeah. Awesome-looking map with many points of attack and routes to get to the same places and all that.

But I can't play there. :evil:

Even going in by myself to find out the lay of the land in solo camp, I was only getting barely 20 FPS.
Josh,

VIP is the most complex map so far.
You need a good computer (processor, RAM and graphics card) if you want a decent frame rate.
Anyway, clear your browser cache, reload the game and let me know if your FPS is better now.
:wink:

User avatar
ulubatli
Posts: 550
Joined: 11 Jan 2010, 12:46
Location: TR

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90)

Post by ulubatli »

Hi Boss.good work congratz :biggthumbsup: ..But I would say that when we have the prises?Perhaps,a beautiful peri(feary,genie,spirit) :love: will give gifts,prises to us during the game? Sorry, am I curious too much?
And another question about that is: will peri kiss us? :mrgreen:
Regards.....)))))
ULUBATLI


Enemy is a person who you don't know its story yet.
Düşman,hikayesini henüz duymadığın kişidir.

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.91)

Post by Remus »

beta 1.91

Many geometry corrections plus:
supreme.jpg
note: Josh lost the ignition key.
:lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

supreme
Posts: 2240
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 13:23

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.91)

Post by supreme »

Remus wrote:beta 1.91

Many geometry corrections plus:
supreme.jpg
note: Josh lost the ignition key.
:lol:

Thankyou Thankyou so much! :) ,
:lalala: :love:

i have jeep now.. hehe!
:

User avatar
ZeronMan
Posts: 626
Joined: 17 Apr 2010, 21:53
Location: USA

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.91)

Post by ZeronMan »

when do :love: i get one?
Target, 2 clicks out. Lock n’ load. Let’s look alive gentlemen.

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Remus »

beta 1.92

Great news for people with Commodore 64 and 1GB RAM:
starting with this version, all the maps are external files!

Pros:
- we can have unlimited number of maps
- the game runs much better on computers with 1GB RAM
Cons:
- you have to wait for download complete (new maps only).
:cheers:

kurt
Posts: 315
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 15:10
Location: Turkey

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by kurt »

Remus :pompom: Remus :pompom:

Thank you very much Remus :pompom: Thank you

:photo:
WaRRiorsS_OF_HecCToR

€né$

kurt
Posts: 315
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 15:10
Location: Turkey

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by kurt »

No change...

PC Features;

manufacturer:Intel

Processor:Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2140 @1.60 GHz 1.60 GHz

Ram:1.00 GB

system type:32 BİT

Graphics Card:256

Used Internet Browser:Google Chrome,The World Browser

Windows 7
WaRRiorsS_OF_HecCToR

€né$

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Remus »

kurt wrote:Processor:Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2140 @1.60 GHz 1.60 GHz
Ram:1.00 GB
system type:32 BİT
Graphics Card:256
Used Internet Browser:Google Chrome,The World Browser
Windows 7
Enes,

On that computer you cannot run properly even Windows 7 alone.
Do you expect to play 3D games with decent FPS on that computer?
:?
1) the processor is slow
2) 1GB RAM is not enough for Windows 7
3) that graphics card is :?:

With 1GB RAM, Windows XP is the only option for you.
:wink:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Remus »

I didn't expect to see Josh and Kiren unhappy. :cry:
Folks, let's resume:
1) the current file size is 3.2MB, the previous one was 12MB
2) you don't have to load 5 maps (ore more!), if you intend to use only 2 (for example).
3) on the previous version, most of the players with 1GB RAM had big problems with the game setup.
4) I cannot include more maps, characters and weapons if I keep the "all in one" approach.

So please answer this: do you want me to roll back to the "all in one" approach?
:?:

User avatar
Timberwolf
Posts: 1311
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 06:37

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Timberwolf »

Hmm... I'm not unhappy with it. For me it's fine. I don't necessarily experience a performance boost, but that's due to my PC, obviously.

Kiren isn't happy. I don't know why. But I don't know much of anything when it comes to her. :lol: Iway inkthay eshay isway azycray

As far as it hurting anything -- she's in camp at this very moment and has been for much of the morning. So I guess she's gotten used to it. :pompom:

I'm 100% fine with it if it's helping others! :biggthumbsup:

supreme
Posts: 2240
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 13:23

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by supreme »

for 1gb ram.. there is not much diff between 3.2mb/12mb

it may be good for players like josh n adolf.. who wants to play in smc and now may be vip somehow.. and for once in a week in tfc..

but i am used to playing in all maps except the empty ones..
i used to switch camps/maps.. for me all maps all good.. depends on how much time i want to waste for frags / i like players in some map/camp.

if you all wants to keep this as it is.. then i am with u all..
but personally it is restricting me to go in one map for a specific period of time and then i wold switch.. like i played in tfc.. and i remained there unless i get enough frags.. but this thing wont last more :)

i am with u all.
so :cheers:
:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Remus »

supreme wrote:for 1gb ram.. there is not much diff between 3.2mb/12mb
There is a HUGE difference!
In a few words:
Function of your installed OS, if you have 1GB RAM, in fact you have less than 600MB usable RAM.
This game is using highly compressed media.
After loading, those 12MB need more than 250MB RAM.
And that's only the beginning!!!
Not to mention all the other apps you may run there.
At the end, your GB is full and the OS is forced to use the swap file.
And the nightmare starts at that point.
:mrgreen:

p.s.
Do you want in the starting menu the option to preload all the maps from beginning?

User avatar
Timberwolf
Posts: 1311
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 06:37

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Timberwolf »

Well, I just played 100 frags worth of action in a 6 to 8-player TFC map.

Only three players out of the 20 who came and left gave me a big problem: Sari (connection is FUBAR), Byozi (I suspect he's speedhack and I booted), Djgeo_Djgeo (just a horrible connection, so I booted) and Yuca (again, above and beyond normal "bad" connection).

I left Yuca in because I like him and booted the rest, and I had a pretty good camp, even though it was packed. :biggthumbsup:

My FPS hovered between 20-30/50, and I didn't see all the wild crazy behaviors I've been seeing for the past few months. I could actually kill!! This, I guess, is a HUGE difference.

It still feels like I'm moving really slow, but since no one else (outside the abovementioned) seemed to be moving faster than I was, everything was okay. The play was smooth and I didn't hear that crazy M-249 twisted metal sound. And I also wasn't getting shot by players in the spawn before they actually appeared on the screen (this will change when I play mucaht and them, but it was good for now).

:cheers:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Remus »

Timberwolf wrote:My FPS hovered between 20-30/50, and I didn't see all the wild crazy behaviors I've been seeing for the past few months. I could actually kill!! This, I guess, is a HUGE difference.
:biggthumbsup:


Here is a test on the current version:
A 3 years old computer:
- Core 2 Duo E6400
- 2GB DDR2-800
- ASUS GeForce 8600GT
- Windows XP-SP2
- Internet Explorer 6
H2_VIP_8players.png
- map: VIP (full camp, 8 players)
49 FPS medium value!
As you can see, you need 200MB free RAM from the first minute!
The (already old) processor is a great one: only 31% load.
:pimp:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

supreme
Posts: 2240
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 13:23

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by supreme »

Remus wrote:p.s.
Do you want in the starting menu the option to preload all the maps from beginning?
yes, i thought same idea while being away from pc.. hehe.. you stole my idea :P

and there could be a list of maps and checkboxes.. so that user can select in start that which maps he wants to load and can save memory as well :)


i like your idea very much.. hehe.. u have my brain.. haha
:

User avatar
Milan
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 08:54

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Milan »

Remus wrote:p.s.
Do you want in the starting menu the option to preload all the maps from beginning?
What will that change? On this way we can load maps by our wish, I already loaded TFC, VIP, AZT, and SMC cos I am playing in these maps... With that preload option I will be able to "erase" what I already loaded, am I right?
supreme wrote: i like your idea very much.. hehe.. u have my brain.. haha
Kiren, thanks God he doesn't have... :lol: :lol: :lol:
Milan
One, two, Freddy's coming for you.
Three, four, better lock your door.
Five, six, grab your crucifix.
Seven, eight, gonna stay up late.
Nine, ten, never sleep again..

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.92)

Post by Remus »

Milan wrote:
Remus wrote:p.s.
Do you want in the starting menu the option to preload all the maps from beginning?
What will that change?
Almost nothing. :mrgreen:
But it's something fancy (and never done before) for lazy girls.
:lol:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.93)

Post by Remus »

beta 1.93

1) EGY is back.
I had to spend less than 20KB to reinclude it. :mrgreen:

2) Maps selector & preloader in the starting menu.

:P

supreme
Posts: 2240
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 13:23

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.93)

Post by supreme »

Remus wrote:beta 1.93

1) EGY is back.
I had to spend less than 20KB to reinclude it. :mrgreen:

2) Maps selector & preloader in the starting menu.

:P
YES!!!
hehe..

thankyou thankyou so much ! :)
:party:
:love:
:

kurt
Posts: 315
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 15:10
Location: Turkey

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.93)

Post by kurt »

Hehe,Remus I install XP and FPS 44/50,49/50,39/50 :P
WaRRiorsS_OF_HecCToR

€né$

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.93)

Post by Remus »

kurt wrote:Hehe,Remus I install XP and FPS 44/50,49/50,39/50 :P
:biggthumbsup:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Remus »

beta 1.94

The Lost Temple (codenamed TLT) is back!
With another round of optimizations.
Up to 4 players per camp in TLT.

7 maps so far.
:P

kurt
Posts: 315
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 15:10
Location: Turkey

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by kurt »

:biggthumbsup:
WaRRiorsS_OF_HecCToR

€né$

User avatar
Timberwolf
Posts: 1311
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 06:37

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Timberwolf »

TLT looks better than it ever has.

But it's like AZT for me now that I can't see greens at all. :lol: (And in SMC I can't see yellows...)

I'm assuming my new graphis will fix this and I'll actually see for the first time that the map backgrounds and the player uniforms are actually different colors! :lol:

I can't wait to take Milan out in TLT in a few weeks! :twisted:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Remus »

Timberwolf wrote:TLT looks better than it ever has.
:biggthumbsup:

Timberwolf wrote:I can't wait to take Milan out in TLT in a few weeks! :twisted:
:pompom:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Remus »

Another 1.94 update (correction): redesigned crouch.
It fits better with the characters.
Here is a sample:
new_crouch.jpg
:P
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Timberwolf
Posts: 1311
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 06:37

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Timberwolf »

So, you made it easier to be a ratone?

:worship:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Remus »

Timberwolf wrote:So, you made it easier to be a ratone?

:worship:
This stand/crouch height error was 2 years old (older than the previous game).
I didn't fix it before because ... I forgot about it.
:mrgreen:

User avatar
ZeronMan
Posts: 626
Joined: 17 Apr 2010, 21:53
Location: USA

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by ZeronMan »

THANX REMUS! WE WORSHIP YOU! :worship:
Target, 2 clicks out. Lock n’ load. Let’s look alive gentlemen.

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Remus »

Another v1.94 update:

Two more buildings in the SMC map.
:P
Note: you need to clear the browser cache (history) and to reload the game (webpage).
:wink:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.94)

Post by Remus »

beta 1.95

- a VIP expansion
- a TFC correction
- in Capture The Flag the default limit is 10 flags. Now you can change it to 5.
- an old bug (jump related) has been fixed.
:wink:

User avatar
simplysheikh
Posts: 254
Joined: 11 Oct 2009, 06:27
Location: Thailand Bangkok

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.95)

Post by simplysheikh »

Thankooo :lol:

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.95)

Post by Remus »

Another v1.95 update:

2 more teleporters in Kineterra.
:P

Note: you need to clear the browser cache (history) and to reload the game (webpage).

sk8rjonny14
Posts: 210
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 06:02

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.95)

Post by sk8rjonny14 »

i love these new updates
keep up da good work
but u should a few other stuff
but i wont be 2 demandin just some small stuff
maybe sum c4 or claymores
1 of those 2 would be fine
n maybe a sprint mode

User avatar
ZeronMan
Posts: 626
Joined: 17 Apr 2010, 21:53
Location: USA

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.95)

Post by ZeronMan »

^yup :biggthumbsup:
Target, 2 clicks out. Lock n’ load. Let’s look alive gentlemen.

User avatar
Tawlney
Posts: 26
Joined: 26 May 2010, 22:07
Location: California, USA

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.95)

Post by Tawlney »

Another suggestion, although a little impractible maybe, how about jeeps that move on the really big boards? that would make the larger boards more fun
I love what's come recently, keep up the good work :D
I like to call myself a pro camper... ;)

User avatar
Remus
Posts: 7797
Joined: 08 Oct 2009, 12:45

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.96)

Post by Remus »

beta 1.96

Online Players List (Pro Package only).

I had a bunch of requests for this (very useful) feature.
It's based on the new network protocol and tracer (still under development).
Only the players with >1000 frags active in the past 12 hours are listed.
The refresh interval is set to 3 minutes per player (to prevent traffic overflow).

Notes:
VIP 1 = VIP "Free For All"
VIP 2 = VIP "Free Teams"
VIP 3 = VIP "Deathmatch"
VIP 4 = VIP "Capture The Flag"
:P

User avatar
Milan
Posts: 808
Joined: 10 Oct 2009, 08:54

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.96)

Post by Milan »

:biggthumbsup: :P
:pompom:
:cheers:
Milan
One, two, Freddy's coming for you.
Three, four, better lock your door.
Five, six, grab your crucifix.
Seven, eight, gonna stay up late.
Nine, ten, never sleep again..

User avatar
mucaht
Posts: 291
Joined: 11 Oct 2009, 12:31
Location: Turkey

Re: Hopeless 2 (beta 1.90 - 1.96)

Post by mucaht »

Very good very good Thankyou Remus Thankyou :biggthumbsup: :lalala: :agree: :party:
There's a bullet for you

Locked